Microsoft Windows

What’s the Difference Between System Reset and System Restore?

System Reset or System Restore?

Resetting your PC and doing a system restore can both be effective methods to alter your PC to either factory settings or to a previous point in PC usage.

Resetting your PC takes it back to factory settings.  This means all of your software will be removed.  You do have the option to keep your files in tact or remove them as well.  To access this feature, you will need to go Settings > Update & security > Recovery.  Taking your PC back to factory settings can be an effective way to significantly speed up your computer and get back to the basics.

Similarly, a system restore can also help boost the speed of your computer.  A restore can also remove potentially unwanted programs (PUPs) and/or malware that may have wormed its way into your PC.  The caveat is, knowing when these issues arise.  A system restore will take your PC to a previous period in time.  This could be yesterday, a week ago, or even six months prior.  Whatever restore point you choose, any new software installations from that period until currently could be lost after the restore is complete.  To create a restore point, or complete a system restore, you need to go to System Properties > System Protection Tab > System Restore, or Create depending on which you’d like to do.

Which is best for you?

It depends on what your overall goal is.  Before doing either, think of what you may be losing.  If you want to boost your PC speeds, and take it back to “out of the box” settings, a reset would do that.  However, keep in mind you would need to reinstall any programs you use on a daily basis such as Microsoft Office.  Also, you will need to ensure you reinstall a security program immediately.

Personally, I prefer the system restore option.  I don’t want to lose everything on my PC, but if I encounter major problems with a program I install I can simply restore my system to a previous date and the program will no longer exist within the PC.  Uninstalling the program could do the same thing, if the issues aren’t significant enough to interfere with that process.  I have also had to use a system restore when I was plagued with a support scam that I couldn’t effectively remove without restoring my PC.

Which do you prefer, and why?  Drop a comment below!

(Visited 353 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *