Techlicious: How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account

how to delete a facebook account

By Suzanne Kantra for Techlicious

How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account

Ever think about closing your Facebook account? Some people have good reasons for wanting to do so. Maybe it bugs you that the social network seems to be forever making changes to how it operates or doing things such as posting on users’ behalf without giving sufficient notice. Perhaps you don’t want to worry about the privacy threat you and your spouse pose when posting. Or maybe you’d like some time back in your life and simply want to spend less time online.

Whatever your reason for ditching Facebook, you should know it’s a relatively easy thing to do. There are two ways to quit—one that’s reversible in case you change your mind, and the other permanent, for those who are certain they want out.

Deactivating Your Account

Deactivating your account puts it on hold and hides your timeline on the site. Facebook doesn’t delete any of your information just in case you want to come back into the fold. I’ve actually used this option in the past and it’s an easy way to take a break from Facebook and then later switch the lights back on. Once you do, everything comes back—your friends, your likes, previous posts and anything else you did at the site.

You should know, however, deactivating your account does not remove your name from your friends’ lists of friends. If it bothers you that your friends might wonder why they’re not seeing your posts, but can still see you as a friend, it might make sense to let them know you’re leaving the network for a while.

If you want to give deactivation a shot, visit https://www.facebook.com/editaccount.php.

Deleting Your Account- Continued Here

This excerpt appears with permission from Techlicious.

(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)

10 thoughts on “Techlicious: How to Permanently Delete a Facebook Account

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *